Setting the cube’s advanced settings

Last modified by Aurelie Bertrand on 2026/07/03 17:07


The Advanced tab allows you to configure the cube’s advanced settings.
This tab is intended for specific cases, such as large cubes that take a long time to load, or where there are particular requirements regarding data refresh.

💡Reminder
A cube is a technical feature specific to DigDash Enterprise that enables data to be stored in an optimised and high-performance manner for reading and aggregation (proprietary in-memory technology).
The cube is generated from a data model.

Advanced tab

Configuring indexing

Indexing data models enables the data in the model (measures, dimensions) to be used in natural language queries. See the page Natural Language Queries for further information.

Three options are available:

  • Automatic ( default): only models used by at least one flow are indexed for natural language queries. Models that are not used directly by a flow are not indexed (e.g. intermediate models used to build other models).
  • Always: the model is always indexed for natural language queries, even if it is not used directly by a flow.
  • Never: the model is never indexed for natural language queries.

Defining a selection transformation function (Live Security)

The Live Security feature is a means of securing the information contained in data cubes. We also refer to this as the ‘personalisation’ of cubes and flows. It allows you to add security rules at the level of the data model itself.

Security is implemented via a selection transformation function.

For simple filtering rules, you can create a function using the wizard by clicking the Create (wizard) button.
For more advanced requirements, you can use a JavaScript function: select the ‘dynamic data security’ example from the drop-down list, then click Edit to create a function.

Tick the ‘Protect transform selection function’ box to prevent it from being modified in dependent models.

See the page Live Security for detailed instructions.

Specifying quotas

It is possible to define specific cube quotas for data models (number of rows or in-memory size).
These quotas are stored within the data model itself and take precedence over those defined in the server settings. See the page Cluster Settings for further details.

To do this:

  1. Tick the Quota tick box.
  2. Select a Quota type:
    • Maximum number of rows in the cube: cube generation will fail if the specified number of rows is exceeded.
    • Maximum cube size in memory: cube generation will fail if the cube size exceeds the specified limit.
  3. In the Value field, enter the number of rows or the maximum cube size and specify the Unit.
  4. Click Add.
    ➡ The quota is added to the list of current quotas. It can be edited or deleted.
    Quota

Enabling data model sharing

By default, data models can be shared with other roles via ‘classic’ sharing of the data model or via a Master role.
If you wish to prevent the model from being shared, untick the box labelled ‘Allow sharing to other roles’.

Other cube management options

Cube statistics

Tick this box to enable cube statistics: outliers, anomalies, measure statistics, etc. To access the statistics report, in the data model management panel, right-click on the model and select ‘Cube statistics’. See the page View cube statistics for further details.

❗ This option may slow down cube generation due to additional calculations.

Do not save cube on disk

Tick the box if you want the cube to be stored solely in the server’s memory.
Once the Minimum time in memory has elapsed , the cube will be lost.

Size of cube parts

The cube data is divided into parts. Tick the box if you wish to change the effective size of each part. The default setting is 100 MB.

This option is mainly used when operating multiple servers in cluster mode. See the page Advanced System Settings  for further details.

Cube memory timeout

This setting defines a time delay before the cube is removed from the server’s memory following its last use. If you use the cube during this delay period, the delay will be extended accordingly.

The default setting is 10 minutes.
Tick the box if you wish to change this time limit.

Cube memory expiration

Tick the box to set a time limit before the cube is removed from memory after it has been loaded or created. Using the cube during this time limit will not affect it.
The default value is 10 seconds.

Always keep the latest cube loaded in memory

In some cases, the time taken for the cube to be loaded into memory can be significant and cause delays when loading the dashboard.
Ticking this box allows the most recent cube to be kept in memory until a new cube is generated and loaded into memory.
When another, more recent cube exists in memory (a new cube with the same identifier and a more recent timestamp), the Cube memory timeout and/or Cube memory expiration apply to the first cube, and it is unloaded.

⚠ This option should be used with caution.
For example, in the case of a customisation, each cube is independent. Consequently, all cubes loaded into memory remain there, which may overload the server if several users access their cubes.

Live Data Cube

If this box is ticked, every use of the cube (e.g. filtering) re-queries the data source. See the page Live Data page for further details.